devotional 3/22—praise your name in the desert


Joh 16:22 So also you have sorrow now, but I will see you again, and your hearts will rejoice, and no one will take your joy from you.
Joh 16:23 In that day you will ask nothing of me. Truly, truly, I say to you, whatever you ask of the Father in my name, he will give it to you.
Joh 16:24 Until now you have asked nothing in my name. Ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be full.

Living in the United States for so long, I still find it too hard to get accustomed to the church and fellowship here. Recently I felt unhappy in the church time, no matter in prayer meeting time or fellowship time or Sunday service. I am so confused why I am happy in school but unhappy in the church. This is just the opposite to my life in China. Every time I went to my church in China, I felt refilled by God’s words and encouraged by my brothers and sisters. Do I have friends here? Yes, I had prayed a lot with Joel when he didn’t get engaged; I shared a lot with Scott, but mostly about the things happened in my life instead of going deep into Bible. I am not complaining about them. They helped me a lot in their ways. But I found I could rarely be inspired by brothers and sisters around me. I thank them for their prayers for me. God listens to their prayers and bless me with very good quiet time everyday. God is faithful, His grace offers me strength to go further with Him. For other brothers and sisters in youth fellowship, we are good friends in life, but not in spiritual field. I mean, I know little about their spiritual needs and I don’t really want to share with them about mine. We can play together, party together, hang out a lot and really have fun. But we seldom get down to Bible. In the church, we talk about our life instead of Pastor’s message. While, I surely like to talk about life, but in the past half year, I did not talk about my findings in the message and my spiritual status and seldom heard any. I am not saying I am good or they are not good. Not at all, I know they love God more than I do, but I expect more spiritual connection with the church. I praise Lord for giving me such verses at this point, which strengthened me to walk with Him and opened my eyes to seek joy from Him, not the world. I thank Jesus for His unfailing promise. I pray that God will heat up our hearts and work for Him together, only to magnify His holy name.

Isa 53:4 Surely he has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows. Pray for my heart to enjoy peace and joy from Jesus Christ, who is crusified on cross for my transgressions.

Thank you!

Your brother in Lord,

Andrew

This entry was posted in 天路历程. Bookmark the permalink.

發表迴響

